Tags

,

On October 2 of last year, my mother-in-law was diagnosed with breast cancer.  She had a lumpectomy later that month, and then did the whole chemo/radiation cycle that has become such a part of many people’s lives.  And despite still feeling a little more tired than she did, she’s doing really well.  But more than that, she’s a survivor.

So of course, when she mentioned doing the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, my mental wheels started spinning.  She planned on running it, and I decided I would run it with her.  But later, she casually mentioned that she hadn’t felt up to training for the run, so she thought she’d walk instead.  I made a new plan.

I learned that she was going to have a whole team of folks from her work that were going to walk with her, so my sister-in-law and I thought it would be fun to get a team of her family together to surprise her.  We’ve plotted and planned for weeks…and somehow managed to keep the fact that 12 people were sneaking into town a secret.

She was positively blown away when we all met her just before the race… and it was one of the most beautiful moments I’ve ever seen.

 

